Quick Answer: How Do You Delete Archived Emails?

What is the difference between archive and delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox.

A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps.

Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied..

What happens if you archive a post?

Instagram Help Center You can archive a post you’ve shared to hide it from your profile and make it so your followers and other people on Instagram can’t see it. When you archive a post, it keeps all its likes and comments. To archive a post: Go to your profile.

How do I change Archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

Where do archived emails go iPhone?

How to Locate & Move Archived Emails Back to Inbox on iPhone and iPad Mail AppOpen the Mail app if you’re not already there.Tap on “Mailboxes” in the corner, and then tap on “All Archive” or tap “Archive” for the specific mailbox you want to look within.More items…•

Does Archive mean delete?

A. The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function.

How do you change from archive to delete on iPhone?

Archive instead of deleteGo to Settings > Passwords & Accounts.Tap your email account, tap Mail (below Advanced), then tap Advanced.In the Advanced settings, change the destination mailbox for discarded emails to Archive Mailbox.

Should you delete or archive emails?

By default, most people delete rather than archive their email. If you ask someone why they delete email, they will most likely tell you that they delete them because they want to keep their email organized and reduce mailbox clutter. While this is a valid reason for deleting emails, it’s rarely the real reason.

Do archived emails take up space?

2 Answers. Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. … The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

How do I retrieve old emails on my iPhone?

While in your inbox, tap the back button, with the name of the account you are in, to see all your mailboxes. Scroll down to the email account you want to recover your emails from, and tap Trash. Tap Edit in the upper-right corner. Select the emails you want to recover, and tap Move at the bottom.

Do archived emails get deleted?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

What is the point of archiving emails?

The point of archiving is to give you a central location to store mails that you no longer need direct access to. It also ensures your inbox is kept clean and attachments and other files are kept safe.

Why does my iPhone archive instead of delete?

Go to Settings -> Mail, Contacts, Calendars and tap your Gmail account. Tap Account -> Advanced to bring up more options. Tap ‘Deleted Mailbox’ under the heading, Move discarded messages into; you’ll see that the default option is ‘Archive Mailbox’. Tap Account and then Done to confirm the changes.

Why have my emails disappeared?

Usually, when Outlook emails have disappeared, it could be an issue of configuration in your settings, account inactivity, email rules set up on Outlook, and emails moved to a deleted folder, your account may be hacked and the mail deleted, or the Conversation Threading feature is turned on.

How do you retrieve archived messages?

You can move archived conversations back to your Home screen.Open the Messages app .Tap More. Archived.Touch and hold each conversation that you want to restore.Tap Unarchive .

How do you delete archived emails on Iphone?

Delete multiple email messagesOpen Mail and go to your Inbox.Tap Edit in the upper-right corner, then tap Select All. Or individually select the emails that you want to delete.Tap Trash or Archive. If you only see Archive, touch and hold Archive to see other options like Trash Selected Messages.

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user. … This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often.

How long do emails stay in archive?

The default period for your Draft and Inbox items is six months, and three months for your Sent Items, but you can change these periods using the Clean out items older than option. Archive or delete old items You must choose this option if you want AutoArchive to delete some or all items when they expire.

Where do my emails go when I archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.